by Jeff Glovsky, Writing

Jazz Azz a Metaphor

<< / >>

You can have tone and technique and a lot of other things but without originality, you ain’t really nowhere.

– Lester Young


Ornette was “out”.  He was different.  He ‘couldn’t play’, yet “rewrote the language of jazz” (no small feat in a musical landscape of perpetual innovation (once), and the ethereal dissipation of improvised note bursts nightly, on a ‘moment’s notice’).

* * *

I myself am no musician.  I don’t capably play any instruments … and I’m no authority.  But I do know well and appreciate jazz:  its humor, its sense of chaos, its combustible spontaneity … and above all, its take it or leave it, ‘is what it is’ ethos, too often exploited because, Hey! It’s Jazz!

a (Blue) Noted Passing
Ornette Coleman
1930 - 2015

“L’Esprit de Jazz”, ©Jeff Glovsky

Standard